Pregnancy is frequently one of the most joyous moments in a woman’s life. Pregnancy, on the other hand, presents several obstacles for many women, particularly at work. Many women and their partners are concerned that having a kid may jeopardize their employment. California, fortunately, has a number of regulations protecting expecting moms and their partners.
Disability leave, maternity or paternity leave, and nursing are all covered under these regulations. A California employment lawyer can assist you in seeking justice if your employer abuses your rights under these rules, which may involve bringing a lawsuit against them. Keep reading to learn more and contact PLBSH at (800) 435-7542 for a free legal consultation.
Pregnancy disability leave
In California, most companies who regularly employ 5 or more employees, are a state or local governmental institution, or are an agent of a covered employer are obligated to give pregnant disability leave.
Disability leave is provided under this statute for any woman who has a disability linked to her pregnancy, whether it arises during or after the pregnancy. For example, an employee may need to take time off during her pregnancy due to severe morning sickness or after giving birth due to postpartum depression.
California law protects employees who take pregnant disability leave. This means they are usually allowed to return to their previous job or be put in a comparable position when they return to work. Employers must continue to offer medical coverage and other health benefits during pregnancy disability leave, even if it is not paid.
New parent leave
Companies with 20 or more workers, as well as state and local governments, must offer new parent leave to employees who have worked at least 1,250 hours in the previous 12 months. After bringing a child into their family through birth, adoption, or fostering, parents covered by California’s New Parent Leave Act may take up to 12 weeks of job-protected parental leave. Both moms and fathers can benefit from it. New parent leave, like pregnant disability leave, is not required to be compensated, but employers must continue to offer benefits.
Protection for nursing parents
If you prefer to nurse your child, the California Labor Code protects your right to do so. Employers must give employees who need to pump breast milk for a baby a fair amount of time each time they need to do so under this regulation. Furthermore, under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, employees must be given a location to pump that is not a restroom. This area must be hidden from view and safeguarded from colleague encroachment.
You may be entitled to make a claim against your employer for a breach of state and/or federal law if they violate your rights relating to pregnancy, new parent leave, or nursing. A knowledgeable California employment lawyer can assist you in investigating your case and determining if any legal infractions have occurred. PLBSH is committed to assisting employees who have experienced workplace injustice, including discrimination linked to pregnancy and parenthood. To book a consultation with a California employment lawyer, call (800) 435-7542.